Facebook Twitter

Maine Teacher of the Year

Selected from among the 16 County Teachers of the year each fall, the Maine Teacher of the Year becomes the most visible exemplar of the teaching profession in the state. He or she is invited to serve on various committees, participate in many program and events, and speak on a number of occasions in Maine.

The Maine Teacher of the Year represents Maine in the National Teacher of the Year Program (NTOY), administered by the Chief Council of State School Officers (CCSSO).  State Teachers of the Year  participate in the National Teacher of the Year Induction Program, Washington DC Recognition Week (includes a White House ceremony), International Space Camp and the Next Steps Conference at Princeton University. In 2017, CCSSO and the College Football Playoff Foundation partnered to celebrate STOYs at the College Football Championship.  

The Maine Teacher of the Year is also an entrant for the esteemed position of the National Teacher of the Year.

Kaitlin Young

2018 TEACHER OF THE YEAR: Kaitlin Young

Kaitlin Young

School: SeDoMoCha School
Grade Levels: K-8
Subject: Music and Choral
Principal: Julie Kimball
Superintendent: Stacy Shorey

Maine’s 2018 Teacher of the Year is Mrs. Kaitlin Young!

She began her teaching career in 2010 at the SeDoMoCha School in Dover-Foxcroft, ME. Since then she has held a variety of music education positions within the district teaching students in PreK through twelfth grade.  Currently she teaches general music to students in Pre-K through fourth grade and choral music to students in fifth through eighth grade.  Beyond the RSU #68 school district Kaitlin has worked with the Center Theatre as a music director for several student and adult musical productions.  Kaitlin participates in several community music ensembles including a contemporary a cappella group and a steel pan band.

Kaitlin graduated Magna Cum Laude from The University of Maine at Orono with a Bachelors of Arts in Music Education in 2010.  Kaitlin completed her Master’s Degree in Music Education with a concentration in Kodaly Pedagogy at The Hartt School in Hartford, CT in 2017.  Kaitlin enjoys spending her free time at her camp with her husband Bob, cat Zoe, and dog Gabby.

Nominated by: Carolyn Clark, Colleague

Kaitlin Young has grown our music program exponentially during her time here. She works tirelessly teaching students to love, respect, and learn from music. She starts her days giving free private lessons to students and can often be seen involved in after school activities supporting students in all of their achievements - attending games, spelling bees, and reading events.

Read more about Kaitlin here:  https://umaine.edu/news/blog/2017/11/07/kaitlin-young-music-education-alumna-named-2018-maine-teacher-year/


Grades 7-8, Skowhegan Area Middle School



Grade 5, Riverton School, Portland




Teachers of the Year from 1954 to 2013.


2015: Jennifer Dorman

Grades 7-8, Skowhegan Area Middle School


Maine County Teachers of the Year

The County Teacher of the Year program recognizes and honors the contributions of Maine's public classroom teachers, creates a greater public awareness of the teaching profession, inspires and motivates future and current teachers and promotes teacher leadership.  Each year, 16 County Teachers of the Year are selected to represent outstanding educators who are committed to the quality education of Maine students.  One of the County Teachers of the Year is selected as the State Teacher of the Year.  

2017 County Teachers of the Year

2018 County Teachers 2017 County Teachers 2016 County Teachers 2015 County Teachers 2014 County Teachers