Facebook Twitter

Meet the 2015 Maine County Teachers of the Year

Maine DOE Newsroom

The 2016 Maine Teacher of the Year will be selected from the 16 honorees and named at a surprise all-school assembly this fall

AUGUSTA – First Lady Ann LePage and Acting Education Commissioner Tom Desjardin marked Teacher Appreciation Week by announcing the top teacher from each Maine county at a State House ceremony today.

Joining the First Lady and Maine’s top education official in recognizing the 2015 County Teachers of the Year was current Maine Teacher of the Year and Skowhegan Area Middle School special educator Jennifer Dorman, Educate Maine Executive Director Ed Cervone and State Board of Education member Alan Burton.

“On behalf of Maine’s 180,000 students, I want to congratulate these excellent educators and the thousands of others like them working in our schools for their tireless commitment to our children and our communities,” said Acting Commissioner Desjardin. “What makes the 16 County Teachers of the Year, and so many others across our state, great is that they believe in every single child they teach. Instead of making excuses, they inspire students and instill them with the skills and confidence they need to realize their incredible potential, no matter their challenges.”

Read the full article >>

Previous Post Read More News Next Post